Not all resources are created equally

The internet is a wonderful thing! It allows us to access information that in the past would have been near impossible for one to find without serious digging. This is an excellent thing for crafters because it allows us to learn new things without having to pay the hefty class costs. However, I want you to keep in mind a few things before you use internet-based resources.

1.) Be sure the resource you are obtaining new skills from doesn’t mind that you are replicating the item if you plan to sell it. (It is actually best if you put your own twist on it to make it more unique to you, anyhow).

2.) Have extra supplies. I have found that at times, the youtube videos don’t always tell you how many beads you need, how much beading wire/thread, etc. I have found myself unable to finish projects due to this. Or I have created something using the last of one type of bead and not been totally satisfied with the item and debated taking it apart completely just to use the beads for something else.

3.) If it is a two+ part video… BEWARE! I find that they often aren’t cohesive. The instructor forgets to mention pertinent info in the first video. Always watch ALL parts PRIOR to even beginning the project. I learned to make a Shambala bracelet recently and I must say… EPIC FAIL. I used a youtube video that came in parts. At the end I didn’t have enough string to tie it off appropriately since the video NEVER (not in any of the parts even) stated to leave several inches of a tail in the beginning for the tie off in the end.

4.) Just because you liked one youtube instructor for one project doesn’t mean you will like all their tutorial videos. There are several reasons for this. #1 Sometimes they are so excited to learn something new, they teach you the technique prematurely. It is still too new for them to be teaching it but they are excited! Don’t we all feel like shouting the new great things we learn from the mountain-tops? Of course! #2 They are human and have good days and bad days #3 They assume you’ve seen many of their videos and the things they say often they assume you already know (i.e. how to do a half-hitch knot, tie off, add new thread, etc) #4 They don’t realize that their viewers have different skill levels and often don’t state if it’s a beginner vs. intermediate vs. advanced level project.

5.) Just because something looks or sounds easy, doesn’t mean it actually is. I had this problem with a recent Beadwork mag project. Yes, yes, the article stated it was a level 3 project but hey, I read the instructions and thought: Piece of cake! Big fat negative!!! I spent an hour just TRYING to make a row of beads and failed! So, if you are given an idea as to the difficulty level of the project, believe them. Try simpler but similar projects and build up to your “Grand Finale”.

I am considering doing some youtube videos myself. I am going to start with the basics. Tools, bead sizes, wires, threads, etc. Start with simple things like making earrings, etc. I just find that as a student I often wonder: “well how much thread do I need”, “How many beads do I need for this project?”, “How do I do that knot?”, etc. It gets frustrating and I have kind of strayed from using youtube videos myself because I don’t like this feeling. It just stinks cause I am a visual learner and like them better than the written instructions. Let me know what you think! I know there are some great youtube instructors out there with a great following of fans/students. I would hate to spend the time doing it if no one watched 😦

2 comments on “Not all resources are created equally

  1. i think it would be awesome for you to do videos on YouTube. Just do it slow enough so that when people are watching and decide to make it with you they can keep up. Also remember the way you are sitting and the way we are viewing. Sometimes it is difficult to reproduce what they are doing if doing it backwards. You are absolutely right about the materials, they never tell you what, how many, what type, etc. I know I would definitely watch and become a fan of your tutorials. You are very easy to understand with your writing and the video would be an added plus. Go Fot It.

    • Wooo hoo! And you are spot on with your suggestions! These are some of the mechanics I have noticed problems with as well. I need a set up somehow. I don’t have a video camera but I can probably borrow one. I need a tripod or something to hold it. Once I have the “tools” I am gonna try for spring. Lots of daylight hours and I can use natural lighting to help improve the view and depth perception of what I am doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

